Maurizio Manzieri

Illustrator

 

Maurizio Manzieri at FANTASY BASEL – The Swiss Comic Con

MAURIZIO MANZIERI, an Italian illustrator based in Turin, is currently a Hugo Award Finalist as Best Professional Artist. During his decades-long career he has earned numerous awards including two Italia Awards, one Chesley Award and three Asimov’s Readers’ Awards. In 2021 he was appointed European Grand Master by the European Science Fiction Society for his international contribution in the field of Imaginative Realism.

Born in Naples, an enchanting Italian harbor considered by many a paradise of art and classical culture, Maurizio began his artistic career working as a graphic artist in advertising and his first editorial sale came in 1994 with a front cover for the British science fiction magazine Interzone. While teaching illustration in art academies, he kept expanding his collaborations in the fantastic field, working with leading magazines and publishing companies: Mondadori, Bragelonne, The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction, Asimov’s SF, Analog, ImagineFX, MacMillan, Putnam/Berkley, PYR, Prime Books, Subterranean Press.

 

Over the years he has graced the covers of many books and illustrated limited editions for authors such as Ursula K. Le Guin, Aliette de Bodard, Terry Brooks, Clive Cussler, Elizabeth Bear, Peter S. Beagle, Robert Silverberg, Robert J. Sawyer, Marion Zimmer Bradley, Kelley Armstrong, Suzanne Palmer, Robert Reed, Peter S. Beagle, Frederik Pohl, Michael Swanwick, Naomi Novik, and many others.

Guest of Honor at numerous festivals in Italy and Switzerland, Manzieri has been often hired by the organizers as a Visual Artist, creating mascots and official posters for prestigious events such as: Lucca Comics & Games (2014), Sassari Comics & Games (2016), Fantasy Basel, the Swiss Comic Con (2016), Zurich Game Show (2018, 2019), Cartoons on the Bay, the International Cross-Media and Children Television Festival (2019) and EuroCon (2021).

Check out Maurizio’s exclusive panel “Maurizio Manzieri: History of an Artist’s Rise to the Podium of the Hugo Award” and learn cool secrets and illustration techniques from his multi-awarded portfolio!

Maurizio Manzieri

Illustrateur

 

Maurizio Manzieri à FANTASY BASEL – The Swiss Comic Con 

MAURIZIO MANZIERI est actuellement finaliste du prix Hugo dans la catégorie « Meilleur artiste professionnel ». Au cours de sa carrière de plusieurs décennies, il a obtenu de nombreux prix, dont deux Italia Awards, un Chesley Award et trois Asimov’s Readers’ Awards. En 2021, il a été nommé Grand Maître européen par la Société européenne de science-fiction pour sa contribution internationale dans le domaine du réalisme imaginatif.

Né à Naples, Maurizio a commencé sa carrière artistique en travaillant comme graphiste dans la publicité et sa première vente éditoriale est intervenue en 1994 avec une couverture pour le magazine britannique de science-fiction Interzone. Tout en enseignant l’illustration dans des académies d’art, il ne cesse d’étendre ses collaborations dans le domaine fantastique, travaillant avec des magazines et des maisons d’édition de premier plan : Mondadori, Bragelonne, The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction, Asimov’s SF, Analog, ImagineFX, MacMillan, Putnam/Berkley, PYR, Prime Books, Subterranean Press.

Au fil des ans, il a orné la couverture de nombreux livres et illustré des éditions limitées pour des auteurs tels que Ursula K. Le Guin, Aliette de Bodard, Terry Brooks, Clive Cussler, Elizabeth Bear, Peter S. Beagle, Robert Silverberg, Robert J. Sawyer, Marion Zimmer Bradley, Kelley Armstrong, Suzanne Palmer, Robert Reed, Peter S. Beagle, Frederik Pohl, Michael Swanwick, Naomi Novik, et bien d’autres.

Invité d’honneur de nombreux festivals en Italie et en Suisse, Manzieri a souvent été engagé par les organisateurs en tant qu’artiste visuel, créant des mascottes et des affiches officielles pour des événements prestigieux tels que : Lucca Comics & Games (2014), Sassari Comics & Games (2016), FANTASY BASEL – The Swiss Comic Con (2016), Zurich Game Show (2018, 2019), Cartoons on the Bay,  the International Cross-Media and Children Television Festival (2019) et EuroCon (2021).

Découvrez son panel exclusif, des secrets et des techniques d’illustration sympas grâce à le portfolio multi-récompensé de Maurizio!